Toggle Main Menu Toggle Search

Open Access padlockePrints

A polybenzimidazole/graphite oxide based three layer membrane for intermediate temperature polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells

Lookup NU author(s): Emeritus Professor Keith Scott



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License (CC BY-NC 4.0).


A three layer membrane (TLM) of polybenzimidazole/graphiteoxide/polybenzimidazole (PBI/GO/PBI) has been fabricated as an electrolyte for intermediate temperature polymer exchange membrane fuel cells (IT-PEMFCs). The membrane is prepared by encapsulating a GO layer with two single PBI membranes via a layer-by-layer procedure and subsequently imbibed with phosphoric acid (PA). The TLM exhibits a lower swelling ratio than that of the pristine PBI membrane at the same PA loading time. The mechanical strength of the TLM could reach 28.6 MPa at 150 degrees C, significantly higher than that of a PBI membrane (12.2 MPa). The TLM is loaded with a PA amount of 2.23H(3)PO(4) molecules per repeat unit (PRU), which provides a proton conductivity of 0.0138 S cm (1) at 150 degrees C. The three layer structure promotes a membrane for PEMFCs with lower PA leakage and material corrosion. The fuel cell performance based on TLM exhibits a peak power density of 210 mW cm(-2) at 150 degrees C.

Publication metadata

Author(s): Deng YM, Wang G, Fei MM, Huang X, Cheng JG, Liu XT, Xing L, Scott K, Xu CX

Publication type: Article

Publication status: Published

Journal: RSC Advances

Year: 2016

Issue: 76

Pages: 72224-72229

Online publication date: 05/07/2016

Acceptance date: 27/06/2016

Date deposited: 04/11/2016

ISSN (electronic): 2046-2069

Publisher: Royal Society of Chemistry


DOI: 10.1039/c6ra11307a


Altmetrics provided by Altmetric


Funder referenceFunder name
2014M56050656th China Postdoctoral Science Foundation
2015HGCH001Fundamental Research Funds for the Central Universities
JZ2015JYLH0084Anhui Provincial Natural Science Foundation for the Returned Overseas Chinese Scholars, State Education Ministry