Toggle Main Menu Toggle Search

Open Access padlockePrints

Musics with and after Tonality: Mining the Gap

Lookup NU author(s): Professor Paul FleetORCiD


Full text for this publication is not currently held within this repository. Alternative links are provided below where available.


Musics with and after tonality: Mining the Gap is a journey through the musics that emerged at the turn of the 20th century and were neither exclusively tonal nor serial. They fall between these labels as they are metatonal, being both with and after tonality, in their reconstruction of external codes and gestures of Common Practice music in decoupled and idiosyncratic ways. The composers and works being considered in this volume are approached from analytic, cultural, creative, and performance angles by musicologists, performers and composers to enable a deeper reading of these musics by readers, scholars, and students alike. For example, an educated reader of musicology may know some of the works of Busoni, Grainger, Nielsen and Skryabin but may not have encountered their works in the manner in which they will be discussed; and they may not know of the pieces by Beach, Carillo, Čiurlionis, Clarke, Foulds, Hába, Howe, Ives, Schuloff, Sorabji, and Stein. In the process of engaging with this book the reader will find an enrichment to their own understanding of music at the turn of the 20th Century.

Publication metadata

Editor(s): Fleet P

Series Editor(s): Lochhead J

Publication type: Edited Book

Publication status: Published

Edition: 1

Series Title: Ashgate Studies in Theory and Analysis of Music After 1900

Year: 2022

Number of Pages: 268

Print publication date: 31/12/2021

Online publication date: 31/12/2021

Acceptance date: 13/08/2021

Publisher: Routledge

Place Published: London


DOI: 10.4324/9780429451713

Library holdings: Search Newcastle University Library for this item

ISBN: 9781138316362